Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

Karolinska Institutet (KI, unofficially known as the Karolinska Institute and in older English texts as the Royal Caroline Institute) is a medical university in Solna within the Stockholm urban areaSweden, and one of the largest and most prestigious medical universities in the world. The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet awards the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. It consists of fifty professors from various medical disciplines at the university.


Karolinska Institutet was founded in 1810 on Kungsholmen on the west side of Stockholm; the main campus was relocated decades later to Solna, just outside Stockholm. A second campus was established more recently in FlemingsbergHuddinge, south of Stockholm. Karolinska Institutet consistently ranks among the top universities in the world on a number of prestigious ranking tables, and is currently considered the ninth best university to study medicine in the world.